Inverted Kingdom


Lairs of the Hidden Gods, Volume 2

Inverted Kingdom

Edited by ASAMATSU Ken
Introduced by Robert M. PRICE

This massive collection of original stories and articles inspired by the ‘Cthulhu Mythos’ created by H.P. Lovecraft was published in Japan in 2002 as a two-volume set under the name Hishinkai. The list of contributing authors is a who’s-who of Japanese horror fiction, featuring some of the finest writers in Japan today.

In cooperation with Tokyo Sogensha, the Japanese publishers, and the anthology editor, Mr. ASAMATSU Ken, we are proud to present this second volume of the series. Here you will find new vistas of horror - some stories with shock you, others force you to look at your daily life through new eyes. Each story is accompanied by a thought-provoking introduction by Robert M. Price, the recognized master of the Mythos.

The cover is by Yamada Akihiro, who handled the cover of Vol. 1 of the series, “Night Voices, Night Journeys,” and many of the covers for the Japanese-language editions of Lovecraft and other Mythos works. He has built up a loyal following in the States as well for his work.

This volume, the second of the four-volume English translation, features the following stories and articles (in the order in which they appear):

Foreword: “Life with Gills”
translated by Edward LIPSETT

Robert M. PRICE
Introduction: “Cults of the Ghouls”

“The Horror in the Kabuki Theatre”
translated by Sheryl HOGG

“Taste of the Snake’s Honey”
translated by Erin S. BRODHEAD

MATSUO Mirai “Inverted Kingdom”
translated by Usha JAYARAMAN

“Terror Rate”
translated by Kathleen TAJI

NANJO Takenori
“A Night at Yuan-Su”
translated by Usha JAYARAMAN

“Secrets of the Abyss”
translated by Bruce RUTLEDGE and ENOMOTO Yuko

“Summoned by the Shadows”
translated by Sheryl HOGG

YASUDA Hitoshi
“The Cthulhu Mythos in Gaming”
translated by Edward LIPSETT


  • "...a first rate collection with excellent translations. The overall fascination is in experiencing the H.P. Lovecraft-created mythos through Japanese sensibilities, which [...] are harmonious in some respects yet quite distinct in many others."
    Adam Groves,


  • v + 306 pages
  • Trade paperback 5" x 8" (127mm x 203mm)
  • ISBN: 978-4-902075-12-0
  • Cover: Yamada Akihiro

Available from

Other books in this series:

Volume 1

Night Voices, Night Journeys

Edited by ASAMATSU Ken
Introduced by Robert M. PRICE

Volume 3

Straight to Darkness

Edited by ASAMATSU Ken
Introduced by Robert M. PRICE

Volume 4

The Dreaming God

Edited by ASAMATSU Ken
Introduced by Robert M. PRICE

The Japanese originals, published by Tokyo Sogensha and featuring covers by best-selling artist FUJIWARA Yowkow, are here (click for a larger view):

Amazon Japan Amazon Japan

The Modern Era
727+64 pages
List 1,300 yen

The Historical Era
797 pages
List 1,300 yen