Straight to Darkness


Lairs of the Hidden Gods, Volume 3

Straight to Darkness

Edited by ASAMATSU Ken
Introduced by Robert M. PRICE

This well-received collection of original stories and articles inspired by the ‘Cthulhu Mythos’ created by H.P. Lovecraft was published in Japan in 2002 as a two-volume set under the name Hishinkai. The list of contributing authors is a who’s-who of Japanese horror fiction, featuring some of the finest writers in Japan today, and reviews demonstrate that the Japanese taste for horror can send shivers up English-speaking spines as well!

In cooperation with Tokyo Sōgensha, the Japanese publishers, and the anthology editor, Mr. ASAMATSU Ken, we are proud to present this third volume of the series, with a new selection of eerie masterpieces to delight and chill you. Each story is accompanied by a fascinating introduction by Robert M. Price, the recognized master of the Mythos.

The cover is by Yamada Akihiro, who is already winning fans with his “four seasons” approach to the four books in this series. In addition to handling many of the covers for the Japanese-language editions of Lovecraft and other Mythos works, he has built up a loyal following in the States as well for his work.

This volume, the third of the four-volume English translation, features the following stories and articles (in the order in which they appear):

Foreword: “Quivering Brainstems”
translated by Edward LIPSETT

Robert M. PRICE
Introduction: “Cthulhu versus Godzilla:
Was Toho Filming the Lovecraft Mythos?”

TANAKA Hirofumi
“The Secret Memoir of the Missionary (Prologue)”
translated by Daniel DAY

KIDA Jun’ichirō
“A Keepsake of the Grandfather”
translated by K. Bird LINCOLN

SANO Shirō
“Horror Special”
translated by Daniel DAY

“The Road”
translated by Kathleen TAJI

TAKEUCHI Yoshikazu
“She Flows”
translated by Nora Stevens HEATH

translated by Kathleen TAJI

“Straight to Darkness”
translated by Toshiya A. KAMEI

“Sounds Out of Space, or, Cthulhu Metal”
translated by Jerome WOODS



  • v + 296 pages
  • Trade paperback 5" x 8" (127mm x 203mm)
  • ISBN: 978-4-902075-13-7
  • Cover: Yamada Akihiro

Available from

Other books in this series:

Volume 1

Night Voices, Night Journeys

Edited by ASAMATSU Ken
Introduced by Robert M. PRICE

Volume 2

Inverted Kingdom

Edited by ASAMATSU Ken
Introduced by Robert M. PRICE

Volume 4

The Dreaming God

Edited by ASAMATSU Ken
Introduced by Robert M. PRICE

The Japanese originals, published by Tokyo Sōgensha and featuring covers by best-selling artist FUJIWARA Yowkow, are here (click for a larger view):

Amazon Japan Amazon Japan

The Modern Era
727+64 pages
List 1,300 yen

The Historical Era
797 pages
List 1,300 yen